Many of the PES Technical Committees and their Subcommittees create and maintain standardisation documents related to the Committee scope of activity. There are three types of standardisation document: Standard, Recommended Practice and Guide. These three types of document are generically referred to as “IEEE Standards”.

The American National Standard document development process is based on the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Essential Requirements for openness, balance, consensus and due process. The IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) oversees the IEEE standards development process.

The IEEE-SA Standards Development OnLine, SDOL, provides a step-by-step description of the IEEE standards development process, including forms and tools. Standards projects are started in the IEEE-SA with the approval of a PAR (Project Authorization Request). PARs define the sponsor, scope, purpose, and contact points for the document project. In the IEEE-SA list of active PARs all those with a sponsor code starting with PE/ are PES Technical Committees document projects.

There are two methods of participating in document development. First is to become a member of the PES Technical Committee group developing the document. The second approach is to join the document balloting pool. The cost of balloting pool membership depends on if the applicant already has membership to the IEEE or an IEEE society.

Published and withdrawn IEEE Standards can be obtained from the IEEE Shop. In some cases, draft documents can be purchased.

Recently Published Standards

August - October 2021

July & August 2021

June 2021

April 2021

March 2021

February 2021

January 2021

December 2020

November 2020

October 2020

September 2020