PES Technical Council

COUNCIL OFFICERS (Effective 1 January 2022) 

(page last updated: May 2022)

Hong Chen, Chair (

Diane Watkins, Vice Chair (

Jim McBride Secretary (

Vijay Vittal, Past Chair (

PES technical committees work to advance the electric power industry through various activities including identifying current and upcoming challenges, standards development and dissemination of important findings. A list of standards and committees can be found through the links to the left; information about the PES Technical Council is found below.

New! We are excited to share the formation of the Entity Proposal Management (EPM) Committee. The EPM's purpose is For IEEE PES Technical Council to have an internal process utilizing liaisons to review entity proposals from PES Regional Chapter Councils and other channels' entity proposals may be received. Learn more here.


  • Analytic Methods for Power Systems Committee - Kwok Cheung, Chair 
  • Electric Machinery Committee - Jim Lau, Chair
  • Energy Development and Power Generation Committee - Robert Thornton-Jones, Chair
  • Energy Storage and Stationary Battery Committee - Babu Chalamala, Chair 
  • Insulated Conductors Committee - Yingli Wen, Chair
  • Nuclear Power Engineering Committee - John White, Chair
  • Power System Communications and Cybersecurity Committee - Craig Preuss, Chair 
  • Power System Dynamic Performance Committee - Leonardo Lima, Chair
  • Power System Instrumentation and Measurements Committee - Ernst Hanique, Chair
  • Power System Operation, Planning and Economics Committee - Jianhui Wang, Chair 
  • Power System Relaying and Control Committee - Murty Yalla, Chair 
  • Smart Buildings, Loads and Customer Systems - Johanna Mathiue, Chair 
  • Substations Committee - Patrick Fitzgerald, Chair
  • Surge Protective Devices Committee - Steven Hensley, Chair
  • Switchgear Committee - Keith Flowers, Chair
  • Transformers Committee - Ed teNyenhuis, Chair
  • Transmission and Distribution Committee - Surya Santoso, Chair


  • Energy Internet Coordinating Commitee - Hongbin Sun, Chair
  • Intelligent Grid and Emerging Technologies Coordinating Committee - Jim Follum, Chair 
  • Marine Systems Coordinating Committee - Dwight Alexander, Chair
  • Renewable Systems Integration Coordinating Committee - Yingchen Zhang, Chair


For General Questions about how to get involved with a specific PES Technical or Coordinating Committee, please email:
Shana Pepin, IEEE PES Program Manager,