IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion


The IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion includes in its venue the research, development, design, application, construction, installation, operation, analysis and control of electric power generating and energy storage equipment (along with conventional, cogeneration, nuclear, distributed or renewable sources, central station and grid connection). The scope also includes electromechanical energy conversion, electric machinery, devices, systems and facilities for the safe, reliable, and economic generation and utilization of electrical energy for general industrial, commercial, public, and domestic consumption of electrical energy.

Impact Factor

The Impact Factor for the IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion is 4.614.

Peer Review

The articles in this journal are peer reviewed in accordance with the requirements set forth in the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board Operations Manual ( Each published article was reviewed by a minimum of two independent reviewers using a single-blind peer review process, where the identities of the reviewers are not known to the authors, but the reviewers know the identities of the authors. Articles will be screened for plagiarism before acceptance.

Open Access

This publication is a hybrid journal, allowing either Traditional manuscript submission or Open Access (author-pays OA) manuscript submission.

The OA option, if selected, enables unrestricted public access to the article via IEEE Xplore. The OA option will be offered to the author at the time the manuscript is accepted. If selected, the OA fee of $2,045 must be paid before the article is published in the journal. If you have unusual circumstances about this, please contact the Editor-in-Chief. Any other applicable charges (such as the overlength page charge and/or charge for the use of color in the print format) will be billed separately once the manuscript formatting is complete but prior to the publication.

The traditional option, if selected, enables access to all qualified subscribers and purchasers via IEEE Xplore. No OA payment is required.

Overlength Page Charges

Overlength page charges are $150 per each page in excess of the first eight published pages.

Tables of Contents

Volume 35, Number 2, June 2020

Volume 35, Number 1, March 2020 (includes the Special Section on Modeling and Simulation Methods for Analysis and Design of Advanced Energy Conversion Systems)

Volume 34, Number 4, December 2019

Volume 34, Number 3, September 2019

Volume 34, Number 2, June 2019

Volume 34, Number 1, March 2019 (includes the Special Section on Power Conversion & Control in Photovoltaic Power Plants)

Volume 33, Number 4, December 2018 (includes the Special Section on Emerging Electric Machines and Drives for Smart Energy Conversion)

Volume 33, Number 3, September 2018

Volume 33, Number 2, June 2018

Volume 33, Number 1, March 2018

Volume 32, Number 4, December 2017

Volume 32, Number 3, September 2017 (includes the Special Section on Modeling and Advanced Control of Wind Turbines/Wind Farms)

Volume 32, Number 2, June 2017 (includes the Special Section on Energy Conversion in Next-Generation Electric Ships)

Volume 32, Number 1, March 2017

Useful Links

Preparation and Submission of Transactions Papers

Templates and Sample of PES Technical Papers

Manuscript Submission Site for the IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion
Every effort will be made to complete the review of your manuscript in three months. If the review has substantially exceeded three months, you may send an inquiry to Be sure to include the manuscript ID number.

The IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion on IEEE Xplore

Subscribe to the IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion

Editorial Board

Alberto Tessarolo, University of Trieste

Past Editor-in-Chief:
Juri Jatskevich, University of British Columbia

Power Engineering Letters Editor-in-Chief:
Mahmud Fotuhi-Firuzabad, Sharif University of Technology

Editor-in-Chief at Large:
Wilsun Xu, University of Alberta

Senior Editor:
Leila Parsa, University of California, Santa Cruz

IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion Editors:
Emmanuel Agamloh, Baylor University
Dionysios C. Aliprantis, Purdue University
Yacine Amara, University of Le Havre Normandy
Mike Barnes, University of Manchester
Michelle Bash, PC Krause & Associates
Mohamed El Hachemi Benbouzid, University of Brest
Gerd Bramerdorfer, Johannes Kepler University Linz
Andrea Cavagnino, Politecnico di Torino
Y. Christine Chen, The University of British Columbia
Akira Chiba, Tokyo Instititute of Technology
Seungdeog Choi, Mississippi State University
Aaron M. Cramer, University of Kentucky
Ali Davoudi, University of Texas at Arlington
Sairaj Dhople, University of Minnesota
Siniša Djurović, University of Manchester
Yao Duan, Toshiba International Corporation
Rukmi Dutta, University of New South Wales
Lingling Fan, University of South Florida
Nuwantha Fernando, RMIT University
Shaahin Filizadeh, University of Manitoba
Damian Flynn, University College Dublin
Hua Geng, Tsinghua University
Marko Hinkkanen, Aalto University
Heath F. Hofmann, The University of Michigan
Jiabing Hu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Jiefeng Hu, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Md. Rabiul Islam, University of Wollongong
Brian B. Johnson, University of Washington
Narayan Kar, University of Windsor
James L. Kirtley, Jr., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Emil Levi, Liverpool John Moores University
Chunhua Liu, City University of Hong Kong
Ka-Hong Loo, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Ali Mehrizi-Sani, Virginia Tech
Smail Mezani, Université de Lorraine
Galina Mirzaeva, The University of Newcastle
Osama A. Mohammed, Florida International University
Marta Molinas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Annette Muetze, Graz University of Technology
Eduard Muljadi, Auburn University
S.M. Muyeen, Curtin University
Zahra Nasiri-Gheidari, Sharif University of Technology
Jonas K. Nøland, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Sanjib Kumar Panda, National University of Singapore
Steven D. Pekarek, Purdue University
Vandana Rallabandi, General Electric
Elias G. Strangas, Michigan State University
Mohammad Sedigh Toulabi, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles
Sadegh Vaez-Zadeh, University of Tehran
Slobodan N. Vukosavić, University of Belgrade
Fengxiang Wang, Quanzhou Institute of Equipment Manufacturing
Liwei Wang, University of British Columbia, Okanagan
Lijian Wu, Shanghai Electric Wind Power Group
Lie Xu, University of Strathclyde
Wei Xu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Hatem Zeineldin, Masdar Institute of Science and Technology

Reviewer Recognition

Star Reviewers for 2019