IEEE Open Access Journal of Power and Energy

The IEEE Power and Energy Technology Systems Journal (PETS-J) is now the IEEE Open Access Journal of Power and Energy (OAJPE). The journal has a broader scope and both academic and practice-oriented articles will be published.

Submissions to the ScholarOne Manuscripts review site are now being accepted.

Scope of OAJPE

pes pub oajpe latest issue b

The IEEE Open Access Journal of Power and Energy is intended to be a technical journal focusing on the development, planning, design, construction, maintenance, installation and operation of equipment, structures, materials and power systems for the safe, sustainable, economic, and reliable conversion, generation, transmission, distribution, storage, and usage of electric energy, including its measurement and control.

Current Issue Table of Contents

Past Tables of Contents



Special Section

Call for Papers

Peer Review

The articles in this journal are peer reviewed in accordance with the requirements set forth in the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board Operations Manual. Each published article was reviewed by a minimum of two independent reviewers using a single-blind peer review process, where the identities of the reviewers are not known to the authors, but the reviewers know the identities of the authors. Articles will be screened for plagiarism before acceptance.

Open Access

The IEEE Open Access Journal of Power and Energy is a fully electronic, open access publication. It is published by volume only (one volume and single issue a year).

Open access provides unrestricted access to peer-reviewed journal articles via the Internet. Hence, members and non-members can access content without restriction.  In lieu of paid subscriptions, authors are required to pay a publication fee after their paper has been accepted.

Open Access Pricing:

  • $1,350 per manuscript up to a maximum of 12 published pages
  • Published paper will be restricted to a maximum of 12 pages
  • Additional model/data, results, plots, illustrations – can be included in Dataport.

Useful Links

Preparation and Submission of OAJPE Papers

Templates and Sample of PES Technical Papers
[use "MSWord Template for Transactions/Journal Papers – Version 2 (Word 2016)"]

Manuscript Submission Site for OAJPE

OAJPE Editorial Board

Fangxing "Fran" Li, The University of Tennessee, USA

Past Editor-in-Chief:
Scott D. Sudhoff, Purdue University, USA

Editor-in-Chief at Large:
Wilsun Xu, University of Alberta, Canada

Promotion and Outreach Editor:
João P. S. Catalão
University of Porto, Portugal

Jamshid Aghaei, Shiraz University of Technology, Iran
Amjad Anvari-Moghaddam, Aalborg University, Denmark
Mohd Aifaa bin Mohd Ariff, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Malaysia
Tatiana Mariano Lessa de Assis, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Luiz Augusto Barroso, PSR Energy Consulting & Analytics, Brazil
Siqi Bu, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong S.A.R., China
James Cale, Colorado State University, USA
Yonghong Chen, Midcontinent Independent System Operator, USA
Gianfranco Chicco, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Javier Contreras, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Mingjian Cui, Southern Methodist University, USA
Katherine Davis, Texas A&M University, USA
Ming Dong, ENMAX, Canada
Ozan Erdinç, Yildiz Technical University, Turkey
Steve Glover, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Wei Gu, Southeast University, China
Ye Guo, Tsinghua University, China
Joshua Hambrick, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Jinghan He, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
Tao Hong, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Can Huang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Ke Jia, North China Electric Power University, China
Mert Korkali, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Panos Kotsampopoulos, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
David Laverty, Queen's University Belfast, UK
Xue Li, Northeast Electric Power University, China
Guangyi Liu, GEIRINA, USA
Ning Lu, North Carolina State University, USA
Rodrigo Moreno, University of Chile, Chile
Panayiotis (Panos) Moutis, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Nirmal Nair, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Masood Parvania, University of Utah, USA
Miadreza Shafie-Khah, University of Vaasa, Finland
Xiaojie Shi, Electric Power Research Institute, USA
Alexandre Street, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Kai Sun, University of Tennessee, USA
Fei Teng, Imperial College London, UK
Fei Wang, North China Electric Power University, China
Shanming Wang, Tsinghua University, China
Zhaoyu Wang, Iowa State University, USA
Wei Wei, Tsinghua University, China
Di Wu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Feng Wu, Hohai University, China
Lijian Wu, Zhejiang University, China
Qiuwei Wu, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Yaosuo Xue, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Jianwen Zhang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Xiao-Ping Zhang, University of Birmingham, UK