PES Webinar - Trends in Microgrid Control

IEEE Power & Energy Society Technical Webinar Series

Trends in Microgrid Control

27 September 2016 • 2:00 pm Eastern

Presented by Claudio Canizares, Professor, ECE Department of the University of Waterloo


This Webinar:

An overview, definitions, and classification of the main control issues and trends in microgrids are presented in this talk, based on the survey carried out by the Power System Dynamic Performance (PSDP) Committee Task Force in Microgrid Control. In this context, the main characteristics and challenges of secondary controls, i.e. Energy Management Systems (EMS), for microgrids are discussed, together with actual EMS architectures associated with deterministic, probabilistic, robust and interval methodologies developed at the University of Waterloo, some of which are being implemented in practice. Thus, an EMS consisting on a simplified Unit Commitment (UC) problem and a detailed dispatch Optimal Power Flow (OPF) problem, in decoupled and integrated architectures, both based on model predictive control and receding horizon techniques, are presented. Stochastic programming and a robust optimization implementations of the UC problem, to better deal with uncertainty of particularly wind and solar power sources, are also discussed, together with an interval approach based on Affine Arithmetic (AA) to model and solve uncertain OPF microgrid problems. The practical feasibility and benefits of the proposed EMS approaches are demonstrated and compared based on results obtained from tests carried out on a realistic benchmark microgrid.


The Presenter:

Claudio Cañizares

Dr. Claudio Cañizares is a Professor and the Hydro One Endowed Chair at the ECE Department of the University of Waterloo, where he has held different academic and leadership positions since 1993. His highly cited research activities focus on modeling, simulation, computation, stability, control, and optimization issues in power and energy systems in the context of competitive energy markets, smart grids, and microgrids. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, of the Royal Society of Canada, and of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and is the recipient of the 2016 IEEE Canada Electric Power Medal and of other various awards and recognitions from IEEE-PES Technical Committees and Working Groups, in which he has held several leadership positions.

Upcoming Events