PES Members elected to the IEEE Fellows Class of 2017

PES Members elected to the IEEE Fellows Class of 2017

(The following are PES Members or were evaluated by PES for election to Fellow)

The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.


Kankar Bhattacharya -for contributions to electricity markets and reactive power ancillary services

Raymond Byrne -for contributions to miniature robotics and grid integration of energy storage

Sang Bin Lee -for contributions to off-line testing and on-line condition monitoring for ac electric machines

William Dickerson -for leadership in precision clock and synchrophasor technologies

Xinzhou Dong -for contributions to traveling wave-based transmission line protection and fault location

Zhaoyang Dong -for contributions to development of computational methods for power system stability and planning

Janaka Ekanayake -for contributions to education in renewable energy integration and smart grid

Terry Ericsen -for leadership in power electronics

Pablo Estevez -for contributions to feature selection and visualization of large data sets

Bhuvaneswari Gurumoorthy -for contributions to design and development of enhanced power quality converters

Lennart Harnefors -for contributions to control and dynamic analysis of power electronic systems

Zhenyu Huang -for contributions to dynamic analysis and high performance computing in power systems

Laszlo Huber -for contributions to ac-dc power converters for portable electronics equipment

Juri Jatskevich -for contributions to modeling of electric machines and switching converters

Jin Jiang -for contributions to methodology, design, and evaluation of engineering systems safety

Chongqing Kang -for contributions to power system operation and planning in uncertain environments

David Lowther -for contributions to and industrial applications of computer aided design in electromagnetics

Fangxing Li -for contributions to locational marginal price calculation

Kallianpur Padiyar -for contributions to education in power systems and application of power electronics

Sri Niwas Singh -for leadership and contributions to power engineering education

Veselin Skendzic -for contributions to technologies and standardization in power system protection

Sushil Soonee -for leadership in developing operational methods for power grid interconnection in India

Jianzhong Tong -for contributions to real-time power system operations

Edson Watanabe -for contributions to the application of power electronics for power conditioning

Dianguo Xu -for contribution to control of electrical drives and power electronic converters

Qing-chang Zhong -for contributions to power electronic systems control