IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award

Description: To recognize outstanding contributions and leadership in power engineering education.  You are encouraged to nominate individuals who have made outstanding contributions to power engineering education.

Prize: $1,000 USD, Plaque and a travel subsidy for the recipient to attend the Awards ceremony.

Eligibility: Members of the PES for at least one (1) year, who have conducted classroom instruction in electrical engineering at a college or university with an accredited program in electrical engineering or equivalent.

Click here for the PES Society-level Nomination Site.

Ali Abur, PhD
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Northeastern University
Boston, MA 02115   USA


Committee Members:

A. Abur
R. Adapa
R. Baldick
M. Crow
C. Canizares
M. Ni
T. Overbye
S. Rahman
M. Shahidehpour

Past Receipients:

1996 S. S. (Mani) Venkata
1997 Peter W. Sauer
1998 Chanan Singh
1999 Mohamed E. El-Hawary
2000 Vijay Vittal
2001 Charles A. Gross
2002 Bruce F. Wollenberg
2003 Leo Grigsby
2004 Chen-Ching Liu
2005 Robert J. Thomas
2006 James S. Thorp
2007 Göran Andersson
2008 Ned Mohan
2009 Lalit Goel
2010 Richard G. Farmer
2011 Thomas J. Overbye
2012 Mohammad Shahidehpour
2013 Saifur Rahman
2014 Ali Abur
2015 Ross Baldick
2016 Mariesa L. Crow
2017 Claudio Adrian Canizares


IMPORTANT:  Nomination forms must be written in English.  One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H.
IEEE Policy 4.4.H
• Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.