IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award

Description: The IEEE PES Women in Power Committee is created to foster a more diverse leadership by supporting career advancement, networking and education of women in the electric power and energy industry. One important way this mission is supported is through the formal recognition of a worthy female member of this community. 

The IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award seeks to recognize a deserving female in the field of power engineering. The award is intended to provide visibility to the awardee’s efforts, accomplishments and future potential while empowering her to be an inspiration and role model for other women in the industry. 

The recipient shall have demonstrated a high level of influence in technical development, infrastructure enhancement, entrepreneurial/management practices or education within the field of electric power and energy engineering. 

In addition to recognizing the recipient, the award brings attention to the value of fostering a diverse talent pool. It further empowers the recipient to have a greater influence on the growth and development of others in the industry.

The award will be in honor of the first female president of IEEE PES, Ms. Wanda Reder.

Prize: The awardee will receive a plaque and a monetary prize/honorarium of US$1500

Funding: The award will be funded from an endowment seeded from a commitment has been secured by an US-based industry supporter, managed by the IEEE Foundation.

Eligibility: Nominees for the award must be female and at least senior members of the IEEE PES.

Selection/Basis for Judging: Tangible and visible achievements in one or more of the following:
• Innovation and technology development;
• Entrepreneurship and innovative business models;
• Education and mentorship;
• Related achievements

Presentation: The award will be presented annually (if a qualified candidate is nominated) at the PES General Meeting in July, in recognition of achievements during the previous calendar year.

Click here for the PES Society-level Nomination Site.

Ruomei Li, CSEE

Committee Members:

Blaise, M.
Immerman, D.
Qillas, L.

Past Recipients can be found at

IMPORTANT:  Nomination forms must be written in English.  One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H.
IEEE Policy 4.4.H
• Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.