IEEE PES Society-level Award Winners 2018

PES is proud to announce the 2018 IEEE PES Society-Level Award Recipients. Award recipients are selected through a comprehensive nomination and evaluation process. Please join us to congratulate this year's recipients for their exceptional achievements.

IEEE PES Award for Excellence in Power Distribution Engineering, Daniel Sabin
For contributions in power quality monitoring and related indicators for fault location in distribution systems

IEEE PES Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award, Carson Taylor
For contributions to the engineering and deployment of control systems and solutions to improve power grid stability

IEEE PES CSEE Yu-Hsiu Ku Electrical Engineering Award, Shirang Wei
For pioneering contributions in clean and efficient power generation, rubber ball cleaning, modern retrofitting of old units, coal gasification and IGCC process design and optimization

IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award, Steven Pekarek
For contributions to modeling and design of electric machinery

IEEE PES Douglas M. Staszesky Distribution Automation Award, Michael Simms
For leadership in advancement of voltage and reactive voltage measurements verification for distribution system operation and automation

IEEE PES Meritorious Service Award, John Paserba
For sustained technical and professional contributions to the power industry and PES

IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award, Bruce Fardanesh
For research, design, and implementation of the Convertible Static Compensator

IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award, Antonio Conejo
For contributions in education for analytic tools and methods for electricity markets

IEEE PES Outstanding Young Engineer Award, Ali Mehrizi-Sani
For contributions in control and management of renewable energy resources

IEEE PES Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award, Vijay Vittal
For contributions to analytical techniques for power system dynamic performance analysis, enhancement, resilience and control

IEEE Power & Energy Society Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award, Nicholas Miller
For modeling, performance analysis and advanced control developments of wind turbine generators, and large-scale renewable integration

IEEE PES Robert Noberini Distinguished Contributions to Power Engineering Professionalism Award, Elizabeth Johnston
For advancement of professional, technical and humanitarian initiatives

IEEE PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award, George Anders
For contributions in development of probabilistic models in power system planning and equipment remaining life

IEEE PES Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current Award, Hong Rao
For pioneering contribution to the ultra HVDC technology and for optimized AC/DC hybrid operation solutions

IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award, Bhuvaneswari Gurumoorthy
For outstanding research in power quality converters and for educating new engineers

IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award, Marina Mondello
For leadership and for serving as an inspiring role model and mentor to young women in the power industry

IEEE PES Prize Paper Award, Emilio Barocio, Bikash C. Pal, Nina F. Thornhill and Arturo Roman Messina
“A Dynamic Mode Decomposition Framework for Global Power System Oscillation Analysis”

IEEE PES Prize Paper Award, Wilson Xu, Tianyu Ding, Xin Li and Hao Liang
"Resonance-Free Shunt Capacitors – Configurations, Design Methods and Comparative Analysis"

IEEE PES Working Group Recognition Award – Outstanding Standard or Guide, Roger Whittaker, Working Group Chair and Adi Mulawarman, Working Group Vice-Chair 

“IEEE C37.119-2016, IEEE Guide for Breaker Failure Protection of Power Circuit Breakers”

IEEE PES Working Group Recognition Award – Technical Report, Nikos Hatziargyriou, Working Group Chair
“PES-TR22, For Contribution to Bulk System Control and Stability by Distributed Energy Resources Connected at Distribution Network”

IEEE PES Outstanding Chapter Award, Large Chapter Category: Boston Chapter

IEEE PES Outstanding Chapter Award, Small Chapter Category: Kerala Chapter

Upcoming Events