PES is pleased to announce the 2016 IEEE PES Society-Level Award Winners. All award recipients are selected through a competitive,vetted nomination process. If you have the chance please take the time to congratulate this year's recipients.  PES is very proud of their accomplishments.

IEEE PES Award for Excellence in Power Distribution Engineering - John J. Grainger       
For leadership in methods for Volt/Var optimization

IEEE PES CSEE Yu-Hsiu Ku Electrical Engineering Award - Guanghui Sun
For his pioneering contributions in power system stability control and equipment and development of stability control standards in China

IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award - William R. McCown
For contributions to the design of large electric generators for fossil, nuclear, and hydroelectric power plants

IEEE PES Douglas M. Staszesky Distribution Automation Award - Mohammad Shahidehpour
For the development and the deployment of a high-reliability distribution system in a perfect power microgrid at a university campus

 IEEE PES IAS A. P. Seethapathy Rural Electrificateion Excellence Award - Gerald E. Hager            
In recognition of life time dedication to the Rural Electric Power Industry and improving the quality of life for rural  communities

IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award - Rambabu Adapa             
In recognition of his research and involvement in key projects, conferences and meetings in Custom Power

IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award - Mariesa L. Crow
For leadership and innovation in electric power engineering education

IEEE PES Outstanding Young Engineer Award - Kory W. Hedman              
For contributions and leadership in the application of operations research and topology control to electric energy markets and power systems analysis

IEEE Power & Energy Society Leadership in Power Award - Gordon van Welie   
For demonstrating organizational leadership that advances the electric power engineering profession

IEEE Power & Energy Society Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award - M. Hashem Nehrir       
For contribution to renewable/alternative energy power generation

IEEE PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award - Robert James Ringlee 
For contributions to the modeling and analysis of generation, transmission and distribution system and apparatus reliability and availability

IEEE PES Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award - Göran Andersson         
For contribution to power system dynamics, stability and control

IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award - Jennifer T. Sterling     
For active industry involvement with an emphasis in regulatory compliance, transmission system analysis, federal open access policy and state retail initiatives

IEEE PES Student Prize Paper Award in Honor of T. Burke Hayes - Tianyu Yang and Xiangxiang Xu              
 "EV Charging Behavior Analysis and Modeling Based on Wireless Sensor Network Data"

IEEE PES Prize Paper Award - Cody Aaron Hill, Matthew Clayton Such, Juan Gonzalez, Dongmei Chen and W. Mack Grady               
“Battery Energy Storage for Enabling Integration of Distributed Solar Power Generation”

IEEE PES Prize Paper Award - Vahidreza Nasirian, Ali Davoudi, Josep M. Guerrero and Frank Leroy Lewis               
“Distributed Adaptive Droop Control for DC Distribution Systems”

IEEE PES Working Group Recognition Award  -- Outstanding Standard or Guide - Sam Sciacca, PSR Co-Chair and Tim Tibbals, SUBS Co-Chair
Joint Working Group of the Power System Relaying and Substations Committees  
IEEE C37.240, Standard Cybersecurity Requirements for Substation Automation, Protection, and Control Systems

IEEE PES Working Group Recognition Award --Technical Report - Reigh Walling, T&D Co-Chair, Ron Harley, EMC Co-Chair and Dean Miller, PSR Co-Chair, Gene Henneberg, PSR Vice-Chair
Joint Working Group of the Transmission & Distribution, Electric Machinery and Power System Relaying Committees
Fault Current Contributions from Wind Plants

IEEE PES Outstanding Chapters Award
Large Chapter  - San Francisco - Jack Lin, Chair
Small Chapter  - Thailand - Boonmarg Smitthileela, Chair