IEEE PES Society Awards 2022

The IEEE Power & Energy Society is proud to announce the 2022 IEEE PES Society Award Recipients. Award recipients are selected through a comprehensive nomination and evaluation process. Please join us to congratulate this year's recipients for their exceptional achievements.


IEEE PES CSEE Yu-Hsiu Ku Electrical Engineering Award

  • Weihan Wu for pioneering contributions to electromagnetic transient numerical analysis and lightning protection of power system

IEEE PES IAS A. P. Seethapathy Rural Electrification Excellence Award

  • Jeremy L. Johnson for his significant and critical power engineering leadership in substation and transmission planning, design, and protection of a rural power utility that improved substantially its reliability and service provision


IEEE PES Award for Excellence in Power Distribution Engineering

  • Mark McGranaghan for technical leadership in standards related to electric distribution, power quality, and distributed energy resources

IEEE PES Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award

  • Juan J. Sanchez-Gasca for contributions to analysis and modeling of transient and small-signal stability of power systems

IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Award

  • Juri Jatskevich for contributions to electrical machine models for transient simulations of electromechanical energy conversion in power systems

IEEE PES Douglas M. Staszesky Distribution Automation Award

  • Josep M. Guerrero for contributions to making the hierarchical control of microgrid systems a practical reality

IEEE PES Leadership in Power Award

  • Christopher E. Root for outstanding leadership and service to the power engineering community

IEEE PES Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Chanan Singh for sustained contribution to the education, research, and industrial adoption of reliability theory and practice in large power systems

IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award

  • Mojtaba Mohaddes for contributions to the development of new technologies and study tools for Custom Power Applications

IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award

  • Taixun Fang for his contribution to the research and development of high-capacity FACTS equipment and their applications to improve the control and stability of electrical power transmission networks

IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award

  • Joe Hong Chow for contributions to mentorship and education on power system stability and control

IEEE PES Outstanding Young Engineer Award

  • Junbo Zhao for developments in robust dynamic state and parameter estimation, physics-informed learning and uncertainty quantification, and cybersecurity for power systems

IEEE PES Patrick P. Ryan Meritorious Service Award

  • Damir Novosel for leadership and service to the IEEE Power & Energy Society

IEEE PES Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award

  • Thierry Van Cutsem for fundamental contributions to voltage security analysis, protection and control

IEEE PES Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award

  • Miroslav Begovic for leadership in education and development of tools and protection techniques for integration of renewable generation in electric power systems

IEEE PES Robert P. Noberini Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism Award

  • Simay Akar for contributions and leadership to IEEE and PES professional activities in support of Student Members, Young Professionals, and Women in Engineering

IEEE PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award

  • Ali Asraf Chowdhury for contributions to the development and practical applications of power system reliability methods

IEEE PES Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current Award

  • Colin Davidson for  advancements in the field of HVDC power electronic valve development and testing

IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award

  • Dipti Srinivasan for her leadership and valuable contributions to the power engineering profession, education and excellent volunteerism

IEEE PES Prize Paper Awards

  • "Ground Testing of the World's First MW-Class Direct-Drive Superconducting Wind Turbine Generator" IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion, vol. 35, no. 2, pp. 757-764, June 2020
    Authors: X. Song, C. Bührer, P. Brutsaert, A. Ammar, J. Krause, A. Bergen, T. Winkler, M. Dhalle, J. Hansen, A.V. Rebsdorf, S. Wessel, M.T. Brake, M. Bauer, J. Kellers, J. Wiezoreck, H. Pütz, H. Kyling, H. Boy and E. Seitz
  • "Definition and Classification of Power System Stability Revisited & Extended"  IEEE Transactions on Power Systems, vol. 36, no. 4, pp. 3271-3281, July 2021
    Authors: N. Hatziargyriou, J. V. Milanović, C. Rahmann, V. Ajjarapu, C. Cañizares, I. Erlich†, D. Hill, I. Hiskens, I. Kamwa, B. Pal, P. Pourbeik, J. J. Sanchez- Gasca, A. Stanković, T. Van Cutsem, V. Vittal, and C. Vournas
  • "A New Fault Location Technique in Smart Distribution Networks Using Synchronized/Nonsynchronized Measurements" IEEE Transactions on Power Delivery, vol 33, No 3, pp. 1358-1368, June 2018
    Authors: Mehrdad Majidi & Mehdi Etezadi-Amoli

IEEE PES Working Group Awards

  • Outstanding Technical Report
    • PES-TR71, Microgrid Protection Systems
      Prepared by the IEEE PES Power System Relaying and Control Committee
      Chair: Michael J. Higginson and Vice Chair: Federic A. Friend
      Working Group Members: Amin Zamani, Athula Rajapakse, Ben Kazimier, Bruce Mackie, Eugene Song, James Deaton, James Niemira, Jean-Nicolas Paquin, Jeff Burnworth, Jim O’Brien, Kamal Garg, Lifeng Yang, Looja Tuladhar, Manish Patel, Mat Garver, Matthew Reno, Michael Bloder, Mukesh Nagpal, Rafael Garcia, Raluca Lascu, Randy Hamilton, Ratan Das, Rob Fowler, S. S. (Mani) Venkata, Sakis Meliopoulos, Sukmar Brahma, Vahid Madani, Wayne Hartmann, Xiangyu Ding and Yuan Liao
  • Outstanding Standard or Guide
    • IEEE C37.245, IEEE Guide for the Application of Protective Relaying for Phase Shifting Transformers
      Prepared by the IEEE PES Power System Relaying and Control Committee
      Chair: Lubomir Sevov and Vice Chair: Brandon Davies
      Working Group Members: Abu Bapary, Stephen Conrad, Randall Crellin, Paul Elkin, Zoran Gajic, Charles Henville, Mahfooz Hilaly, Mohamed Ibrahim, Umar Khan, Dean Miller, Joe Mooney, Eli Pajuelo, Sam Sambasivan, Tony Seegers, Farajollah Soudi, Michael Thompson, Demetrios Tziouvaras, Tom Wiedman, and Abu Zahid

IEEE PES Outstanding Chapter Award

  • Small Chapter Category - Western Australia Chapter
  • Large Chapter Category - Kerala Chapter