IEEE Cooperation Structure on Technical Support

Updated 27 July 2020

IEEE PES Industry Technical Support (ITS) Leadership Committee

pes itslc midyear report facebook










NOTE: Previously know as the IEEE PES Industry Technical Support Task Force (ITSTF), this group has officially changed its name effective May 6, 2019. Moving forward, this group will be known as The IEEE PES Industry Technical Support Leadership Committee.

Provide support to and cooperate with governments, regulators, and other industry organizations globally on technical issues related to power, energy, and policy topics. The committee shall work closely with IEEE Standards Association (SA), IEEE-USA, and other IEEE Societies on an as needed basis. The objective is to tap on IEEE membership, stakeholders and various organizations (e.g. Technical Committees, Smart Grid, Smart Cities, Chapters, etc.) to provide support.

Structure and Plans:

The Committee is working very closely with Technical Council and Technical Committees, as the PES Technical Committees provide technical expertise and resources, and IEEE PES Governing Board leadership, addressing topics related to conferences and meetings, education, publications, regional activities, etc. It coordinates activities with IEEE SA and other IEEE organizations (e.g. other IEEE societies), as well as with industry organizations on a needed basis.

The Committee reports to the IEEE PES VP of New Initiatives and its structure is noted below.

Officers and Points of Contact

  • IEEE PES Governing Board VP of New Initiatives: Shay Bahramirad
  • Chair: Damir Novosel
  • Vice Chair: Aleksi Paaso
  • IEEE PES Staff: Shana Pepin Program Manager of IEEE PES Technical Activities
  • IEEE USA: Chris Root
  • IEEE Standards Association Staff: Erin Spiewak/Ravi Subramanian
  • IEEE PES Technical Council: Vihay Vittal, VP Technical Activities
  • IEEE PES VPs and MALs are engaged in selected activities as identified below


IEEE PES Industry Technical Support Leadership Committee

Cooperation Task Team 1: Standards and Interoperability

Improve the electrical power grid performance and interoperability for systems and equipment through timely development of standards. 

  • Leads: Zhenyu Huang, Chan Wong and Doug Houseman
  • IEEE Standards Association: Erin Spiewak and Ravi Subramaniam
  • Coordinated with Babak Enayati (PES Member-At-Large) and Hermann Koch (PES Member-At-Large for Standards
  • NIST Liaison: Jerry Fitzpatrick

Cooperation Task Team 2: Technology

Support technology advancement through collaboration with existing IEEE working groups or development of new working groups. 

  • Leads: Dagmar Niebur and Carla Frieh
  • Supported by Farnoosh Rahmatian
  • Coordinated with PES VP Technical Activities, Vijay Vittal

Cooperation Task Team 3: Conferences and Meetings

Facilitate participation at IEEE conferences, including organizing workshops, panel sessions, and project reviews.

  • Leads: Don Hall and Veronika Rabl
  • Coordinated with PES VP of Conferences and Meetings, Wayne Bishop

Cooperation Task Team 4: Education

Develop and/or deliver educational and informational materials, such as Webinars, On-demand Tutorials, Publications and Newsletter articles.

  • Leads: Marianna Vaiman and Sharma Kolluri
  • Coordinated with PES VP of Education, Edvina Uzunovic

ITS Leadership Committee Interfaces

Joint IEEE efforts have resulted in cooperative relationships with various organizations with each signing of an Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with IEEE, including specific implementation plans for each initiative. IEEE volunteer leaders have been assigned as interfaces to each initiative to facilitate the process.

  • US Department of Energy (DOE)
    PES: Chan Wong, Bill Hederman, and Zhenyu Huang 
    SA: Ravi Subramaniam
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
    PES: Emanuel Bernabeu and Bill Chiu
    SA: Erin Spiewak
  • North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC)
    PES: Murty Yalla (supported by Jay Liu)
    SA: Erin Spiewak and Ravi Subramaniam
  • The Ministry of Electricity and Renewable Energy Ecuador (MEER)
    PES: Jaime Cepeda
  • North American Transmission Forum (NATF)
    PES: Marianna Vaiman and Chris Root


Content Provided by the ITSLC via the PES Resource Center

Upcoming Events