IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award

An IEEE PES Award for outstanding contributions to the field of electromechanical energy conversion.

The Award is administered by the IEEE PES Awards Committee.  Recipients shall receive a plaque, a $5000 honorarium, and recognition at the IEEE PES General Meeting.

Selection criteria include:

  • Career dedication to the electric power engineering profession
  • Career contributions to the development, design, analysis, or manufacturing of electromechanical energy conversion systems or devices

Eligibility:  All members of the IEEE Power & Energy Society are eligible. Restricted to the power engineering area of electromechanical energy conversion.

Click here for the PES Society-level Nomination Site.


Nils Nilsson
Lanier Consulting, LLC

Committee Members:

James Edmonds
Michael Sedlak
Scott Sudhoff
Steven Umans

Past Receipients:

2000 Paul I. Nippes
2003 M. Azizur Rahman
2004 Hamid A. Toliyat
2005 Ronald G. Harley
2006 Scott D. Sudhoff
2008 Oleg Wasynczuk
2009 Emil Levi
2010 O. A. Mohammed
2011 Stephen D. Umans
2012 J. Sheung-Chun Hsu
2013 Clyde V. Maughan
2014 James S. Edmonds
2015 Babak Fahimi
2016 William R. McCown
2017 Gerard-Andre Capolino

IMPORTANT Nomination forms must be written in English.  One award per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

 PES, being one of IEEE's Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H.

IEEE Policy 4.4.H

• Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Return to Awards