IEEE PES Meritorious Service Award Renamed in Honor of Patrick Ryan

The IEEE Power & Energy Society has announced the IEEE PES Meritorious Service award has been renamed the IEEE PES Patrick P. Ryan Meritorious Service Award.  This award recognizes PES Members who have made outstanding contributions in leadership, technical activities, educational activities, global inclusion and membership growth of the IEEE Power & Energy Society. 

Pat was the PES Executive Director from 2007 to 2020 and was a driving force in transforming PES into the second-largest society within the IEEE. He had a relentless focus on the IEEE and PES Mission & Vision and a strong belief that there needed to be significant volunteer engagement to pursue anything new. Pat was honored by the IEEE Board of Directors when he was selected as the 2020 recipient of the IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award “for leadership in creating a successful model for IEEE and Society memberships by fostering member value and partnerships with volunteers.”

In honor of Pat's contributions to PES, in January 2021, the PES Governing Board unanimously agreed that the IEEE PES Meritorious Service award be renamed in honor of Patrick Ryan so his legacy and impact can be remembered annually.

Ryan Meritorious Service Award