2017 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Recipient

The IEEE Power & Energy Society is proud to announce the selection of Chris Calderwood from Boise State University as the recipient of the 2017 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship.

Established in the memory of G. Ray Ekenstam and his professional career in the fields of power engineering and industry applications, this scholarship recognizes an undergraduate student who is an honorably discharged US Veteran seeking an electrical engineering degree in the field of power or a related discipline.

Caderwood Chris IdahoPowerpicChris is a United States Army National Guard veteran who will graduate with a BS in Electrical Engineering in December 2018. He earned a Diesel Equipment Technology degree from the University of Montana before serving in the US Army National Guard. During his service time he served in Kirkuk, Iraq for a year for Operation Iraqi Freedom. He received the Army Reserve Components Achievement Medal (2 times), Army Good Conduct Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Iraq Campaign Medal and the National Defense Service Medal. He served as an intern at the Idaho Power Company this past summer.

The G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship committee feels Chris is taking the appropriate action to obtain the knowledge and skills necessary which will result in him making an impact across the power and energy industry. As a recipient for this scholarship he will receive the following:

  • US$5,000 which will be used for school expenses (tuition, books, student fees)
  • An additional year of IEEE Student Membership
  • A travel stipend of up to US$500 to travel to and participate in the IEEE Power & Energy Society General Meeting.

Chris will be formally recognized as the recipient of this award during the IEEE PES Student Luncheon that will be held during the 2018 IEEE PES General Meeting in Portland, OR. Past recipients of this award include the following:

  • 2011 - Amelia Simpson, Louisiana State University
  • 2012 - Jimmy Higgins, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • 2013 - Hai Van Lu, University of South Alabama
  • 2014 - Nial Khodra, University of Alaska-Anchorage
  • 2015 - Zachary Hadsell - University of Nevada - Reno
  • 2016 - Shawn Canady - University of Clemson

Applications for this award are accepted via the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative. The application period for submitting an application is 1 March to 30 June 2018.

The scholarship fund is administered by the IEEE Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation established in 1973 in the State of New York exclusively to support the scientific and educational purposes of IEEE. Visit www.ieeefoundation.org for more information.