2016 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Recipient

The IEEE Power & Energy Society is proud to announce the selection of David “Shawn” Canady from Clemson University as the recipient of the 2016 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship.

Established in the memory of G. Ray Ekenstam and his professional career in the fields of power engineering and industry applications, this scholarship recognizes an undergraduate student who is an honorably discharged US Veteran seeking an electrical engineering degree in the field of power or a related discipline.

Shawn is a United States Marine Corps veteran who is scheduled to graduate with a BS in Electrical Engineering in May 2017. He is also enrolled in the Power Systems Engineering Certificate Program and the Renewable Energy Certificate Program at Clemson. During his time in the US Marine Corps, he served as an engineer and electrical equipment systems technician. He performed maintenance on generators, power distribution systems, heavy equipment, refrigeration equipment, motors, and water purification systems. While being deployed in the Philippines, he received the Humanitarian Service Medal. His unit constructed a free-standing school for a small village in the Pampanga region and Shawn was responsible for electrical wiring and the design of the school building. As part of his academic training, Shawn has completed internships with the Georgia Transmission Corporation and Proterra.

The G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship committee feels Shawn is taking the appropriate action to obtain the knowledge and skills necessary which will result in him making an impact across the power and energy industry. As a recipient for this scholarship he will receive the following:

  • US$5,000 which will be used for school expenses (tuition, books, student fees)
  • An additional year of IEEE Student Membership
  • A travel stipend of up to US$500 to travel to and participate in the IEEE Power & Energy Society General Meeting.

Shawn will be formally recognized as the recipient of this award during the IEEE PES Student Luncheon that will be held during the IEEE PES General Meeting in Chicago, IL (16 – 20 July 2017). The G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Committee selected Shawn after reviewing the applications submitted by US Veterans for the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative. Past recipients of this award include the following:

  • 2011 - Amelia Simpson, Louisiana State University
  • 2012 - Jimmy Higgins, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • 2013 - Hai Van Lu, University of South Alabama
  • 2014 – Nial Khodra, University of Alaska-Anchorage
  • 2015 – Zachary Hadsell - University of Nevada - Reno

Applications for this award are accepted via the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative. The application period for submitting an application is 1 March to 30 June 2017.

The scholarship fund is administered by the IEEE Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation established in 1973 in the State of New York exclusively to support the scientific and educational purposes of IEEE. Visit www.ieeefoundation.org for more information.