2013 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Recipient Announced

Dan Toland
IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Program Director
+1 732-562-5515

2013 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Recipient Announced

Piscataway, NJ - 9 December 2013 - The IEEE Power & Energy Society is proud to announce the selection of Hai Van Lu from the University of South Alabama as the recipient of the 2013 IEEE PES G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship recognizes an undergraduate student who is an honorably discharged US Veteran seeking an electrical engineering degree in the field of power or a related discipline.

This scholarship was established in memory of G. Ray Ekenstam and his professional career in the fields of power engineering and industry applications. The Scholarship Fund awards, on an annual basis, a scholarship to a qualified undergraduate student who seeks an electrical engineering degree in the field of power or a related discipline, from an accredited US university or college.

Hai is a US Navy veteran who is scheduled to graduate with a BS in Electrical Engineering in May 2014. Hai has had internships at Alabama Power and the Southern Company. He has also been involved in IEEE and IEEE Eta Kappa Nu activities at the University of South Alabama. The G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship committee feels Hai is taking the appropriate action to obtain the knowledge and skills necessary which will result in him making an impact across the power and energy industry. As a recipient for this scholarship he will receive the following:

  • US$5,000 (to be paid to the University of South Alabama) which will be used for school expenses (tuition, books, student fees)
  • an additional year of IEEE Student Membership
  • A travel stipend of up to US$500 to travel to and participate in the IEEE Power & Energy Society General Meeting.

Hai will be formally recognized as the recipient of this award during the IEEE PES Student Luncheon that will be held during the IEEE PES General Meeting in Washington, DC (27 – 31 July 2014). The G. Ray Ekenstam Memorial Scholarship Committee selected Hai after reviewing the applications submitted by US Veterans for the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative.

Past recipients of this award include the following:

  • 2011 - Amelia Simpson, Louisiana State University
  • 2012 - Jimmy Higgins, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

Applications for this award are accepted via the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative. The application period for submitting an application is 1 March to 30 June 2014.

The scholarship fund is administered by the IEEE Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation established in 1973 in the State of New York exclusively to support the scientific and educational purposes of IEEE. Visit www.ieeefoundation.org for more information.

About IEEE:
IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional association, is dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics. Learn more at http://www.ieee.org.

About the IEEE Foundation:
The IEEE Foundation provides philanthropic services in support of the IEEE core purpose to foster technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. To fulfill its role, the IEEE Foundation relies on donations to award grants to charitable organizations with new and innovative projects. It also administers more than 130 donor designated funds that support a variety of educational, humanitarian, historical preservation, and peer recognition programs of IEEE.

About IEEE Power and Energy Society:
The IEEE Power & Energy Society is a technical society of IEEE with of more than 29,000 individuals engaged in the electric power energy industry. Our mission is to be the leading provider of scientific information on electric power and energy for the betterment of society and the preferred professional development source for our members.