Electrification Magazine

IEEE Electrification Magazine is a quarterly magazine dedicated to disseminating information on all matters related to electrification in vehicles, ships, trains, planes and spacecraft, and off-grid applications including microgrids. Off-grid applications include small scale electricity supply in areas away from high voltage power networks. Microgrids include networks that provide secure power supply in both grid-connected and stand-alone modes. Feature articles in the magazine focus on advanced concepts, technologies, and practices associated with all aspects of electrification in the transportation and off-grid sectors from a technical perspective in synergy with nontechnical issues such as business, environmental, and social concerns.

Membership in IEEE's technical societies provides access to top quality publications such as this one either as a member benefit or via discounted subscriptions. The electronic version of this publication is available for purchase by both members and non-members.

NEW for PES Members - Login and Read Electrification Magazine Now

Feedback from our readers is encouraged. Please send your comments or suggestions to electrification@ieee.org.

Subscribe to the Electrification Magazine - Please login to your IEEE account to view any applicable member rates or discounts.

Multi-Year Index to Feature Articles - This index covers all feature articles that appeared in IEEE Electrification Magazine during 2013–2015. (PDF format)

Digital Edition Subscription Rates:
Non-Member rate: US $75.00
IEEE Professional Member rate: US $35.00 
IEEE Student Member rate: US $18.00
Sponsoring society member rate: US $25.00
Sponsoring society student member rate: US $13.00

2016 Electrification Magazine Editorial Board:

Iqbal Husain
North Carolina State University
North Carolina, USA
ihusain2@ncsu.edu
Editor in Chief

Eduardo Pilo de la Fuente
EPRail Research and Consulting
Spain
eduardo.pilo@eprail.com
Editor, Electric Trains

Jose Conrado Martinez
Directcion de Estrategia y Desarrollo
Spain
jcmartinez@adif.es
Editor, Electric Trains

Tamas Ruzsanyi   
Ganz-Skoda
Hungary
tamas.ruzsanyi@ieee.org
Editor, Electric Trains

Mohammad Shahidehpour
Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago
Illinois, USA
ms@iit.edu
Editor, Microgrid

Steve Pullins
GridIntellect
Tennessee, USA
steve@gridintellect.com
Editor, Microgrid

Antonello Monti
RWTH Aachen
Germany
amonti@eonerc.rwth-aachen.de
Editor, Microgrid

Suryanarayana Doolla
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
India
suryad@iitb.ac.in
Editor, Microgrid

Herb Ginn
University of South Carolina
South Carolina, USA
ginnhl@cec.sc.edu
Editor, Electric Ships

Robert Cuzner
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Wisconsin, USA
Cuzner@uwm.edu
Editor, Electric Ships

Marta Molinas
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Norway
marta.molinas@ntnu.no
Editor, Electric Ships

Eduard Muljadi
NREL: Wind Research
Colorado, USA
eduard.muljadi@nrel.gov
Editor, Electric Vehicles

Khwaja Rahman   
General Motors
Michigan, USA
khwaja.rahman@gm.com
Editor, Electric Vehicles

Chris Searles
BAE Batteries
Wisconsin, USA
Chris.Searles@baebatteriesusa.com
Editor, Electric Vehicles

Silva Hiti
Faraday Future
California, USA
silva.hiti@ff.com
Editor, Electric Vehicles

Bulent Sarlioglu
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wisconsin, USA
bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Editor, Electric Planes

Syed A. Hossain
GE Aerospace
Ohio, USA
syed.hossain@ge.com
Editor, Electric Planes

Kaushik Rajashekara
University of Houston
Texas, USA
ksraja@central.uh.edu
Editor, Electric Planes

Babak Nahid-Mobarakeh
University of Lorraine
France
Babak.nahid@ieee.org
Editor, Electric Planes

Author Guidelines and Submission Information:

A magazine article differs considerably from a technical paper, which is prepared for transactions status. Magazine articles do not contain abstracts, keywords, conclusions, or references (though a "For Further Reading" list is required). Generally speaking, magazine articles do not employ equations or formulas; they try to adhere to the adage "if it cannot be said in words, it does not belong in a magazine article." Also, as IEEE Electrification Magazine is a four-color publication, it is preferred that articles be accompanied by graphics, photos, screen captures, etc. to enhance their content.

Manuscript Preparation

Proposals and articles may be submitted for consideration. Proposals should be in the form of an extended abstract. Articles should be prepared according to the following guidelines:
  • The article should be a Word file in single-column, double-spaced format.
  • All text components of the article should be included (e.g., body of the article, figure captions, tables, sidebars, if any, and brief author biographies as described below), with all graphics (figures, tables, etc.) shown in their desired location within the body of the article.
  • Reference lists are not allowed. However, a "For Further Reading" section of no more than 10 entries is required.
  • Footnotes are allowed for illustrations used with permission.
  • A one-line bio for each author should appear at the end of the article and should include the author's name, e-mail address, and affiliation. For example:
    John Smith (author @ nrel.gov) is with the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colorado.
  • The article should be between 6 and 8 pages long, corresponding to approximately 5,000 words and included graphics.
Note: If any figures in the article have been used from other sources, it is the author's responsibility to obtain written permission from the original source to reprint them.

Submission Information

Proposals and articles should be submitted via e-mail to electrification@ieee.org. Be sure to include complete contact information.

Upon Acceptance

If your article is accepted for publication, you will be required to submit the following material:
  • the final version of the article in Word and PDF formats
  • a separate source file for each figure in jpg, gif, tif, or eps format with a resolution of at least 300 dpi (name each file according to its relationship to the article, e.g., fig1.eps, fig2.tif, etc.)
  • an IEEE Copyright Form signed by any author.
Once your article is scheduled for a specific issue, it will be forwarded to the IEEE Magazines Department for processing. You will receive a proof of your edited text for review and approval prior to publication.

Advertise in Electrification Magazine: Download the Electrification Media Kit

For advertising information, please contact:

Erik Henson, Media Director, IEEE PES
Naylor Association Solutions
5950 NW 1st Place
Gainesville, FL 32607
Dir: 352-333-3443 / 800-369-6220 x 3443
Fax: 352-331-3525
ehenson@naylor.com
www.naylor.com


Upcoming Events