IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS and Custom Power Awards

Description of the Award:

The award has been named by PES to honor Dr. Narain Hingorani, who pioneered the concepts of Custom Power.

Power electronics and other static Controllers are making a major impact on future power systems through application in transmission, distribution, and small generation. Applications in transmission and distribution include HVDC, FACTS and Custom Power. Since the introduction of the Flexible AC transmission System (FACTS) and Custom Power concepts, the technology has been moving ahead at an increasing pace. Very significant near to long term benefits of FACTS and Custom Power technologies are now recognized in the industry. The FACTS and Custom Power Awards will be for individuals who have made a major contribution to the state of the art of FACTS and Custom Power technologies and their applications.

The IEEE definition of FACTS is:

"Alternating Current Transmission Systems incorporating power electronics-based and other static controllers to enhance controllability and power transfer capability."

The IEEE definition of Custom Power is:

" The concept of employing power electronic (static) controllers in 1 kV through 38 kV distribution systems for supplying a compatible level of power quality necessary for adequate performance of selected facilities and processes."

By these definitions, the FACTS and Custom Power concepts, in addition to the hardware, software and applications work carried out since their introduction, incorporates considerable prior work done on Static VAR Compensators and other static Controllers.


The IEEE Power & Energy Society will administer these awards through its Awards Committee and the FACTS and Custom Power Awards Committee.


Individuals, who have made a major contribution to the state of the art of FACTS or Custom Power technologies and their applications, will be considered. A nomination must be for one or the other award, FACTS or Custom Power depending on where nominees accomplished most. It is recognized that there is overlap in various power electronics technologies and pioneering engineers are apt to be involved in more than one area. Therefore, the nomination for one or the other should also state accomplishments in the other areas of power electronics.  The Award Committee may decide not to give either award if no qualified candidate is nominated.

Stig Nilsson, Chairman IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award Committee


Ram Adapa, Chairman IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award Committee

Committee Members:

P. Adam
H. Akagi
B. R. Andersen
R. W. DeDoncker
H. Huang
B. Mehraban
H. Mehta
S. Nilsson
M. Mojtaba
G. F. Tang
R. A. Tenorio
E. Watanabe
M. Szechtman

Past Receipients:

1999 Laslo Gyugui
2000 David J. Young
2001 Einar Larsen
2002 Ibrahim A. Erinmez
2003 Dusan Povh
2004 Colin D. Schauder
2005 Masatoshi Takeda
2006 Abdel-Aty Edris
2007 Aniruddha M. Gole
2008 Xiaoxin Zhou
2010 Chris Horwill
2011 John J. Paserba, Jr.
2012 Stig L. Nilsson
2013 Edson H. Watanabe
2014 Harshad Mehta
2016 Rambabu Adapa


Selection: Factors to be considered in selecting the FACTS and Custom Power Awards include:|

The candidate’s contribution(s) to FACTS or Custom Power technology.  Originality or innovative nature of the contribution(s).  Impact of the contribution(s) on FACTS or Custom Power technology and its applications.  List of significant publications in FACTS or Custom Power.  Candidate's stature in FACTS or Custom Power. Achievements in other fields or power electronics technologies.  Professional activities or involvements.

IMPORTANT:  Nomination forms must be written in English.  One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

 PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H.

IEEE Policy 4.4.H

Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.


 Return to Awards