IEEE Power & Energy Society Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award

 Call for Nominations

Deadline:  January 31

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions in the field of developing, utilizing and integrating renewable energy resources in the national and global energy scenarios.  As the world transitions into increasing use of energy technologies that have minimal carbon footprint, IEEE PES should play a leading role to enable this transition.  The need to stimulate and encourage activity towards this goal is the primary objective of this award.

Administration: The award will be administered by the Power & Energy Society.

Form of Recognition
An honorarium of $1,000, $750 for travel expenses to accept the award, and a plaque.

Frequency: Presented once per year at the IEEE PES General Meeting.  Lack of suitable nominations may prevent the award from being presented during some years.  

Eligibility: Candidate must have been an IEEE PES member in good standing for at least 5 years.
No current member of the IEEE Board of Directors, the IEEE PES Governing Board, the IEEE PES Awards and Recognition Committee, the IEEE PES Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award Committee, or IEEE staff may be candidates, or nominate or endorse candidates for this award.

Funds: This award will be funded through a quasi-endowment fund established through the IEEE Foundation and provided by an External Source/Donor.  A corpus of U.S. $50,000.00 will be endowed by the Ramakumar family for this award.  With proper management according to the rules and procedures formulated and adopted by PES, the fund balance is expected to grow over the years.

Nominations: The nomination of candidates for this award shall be made on nomination forms available from the IEEE PES website. Nominations will also be solicited via publication of suitable notices in IEEE Power & Energy Magazine, PES e-Newsletter and in Section newsletters.

Download as a Word Document

Download as an Adobe PDF Document

Schedule: The proposed schedule is given below:

November: Solicitations go out

January 31: Deadline for nominations and letters to be submitted to the individual identified as the Chair of the selection committee for that year

March: Deliberations by the selection committee consisting of the Chairperson and four to eight additional members

 Award Chair:

Ward T. Jewell
Wichita State University
EECS Department, Campus Box 83
1845 Fairmount
Wichita, KS  67260-0083

Committee Members:
Bertling, L., Gothenberg, SE
El-Sharkawai, M., Seattle, WA
Muljadi, E., Golden, CO
Piwko, R., Schenectady, NY
Ramakumar, R. ,Stillwater, OK
Strunz, K., Berlin, DE